The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination. The award is given by the National Eagle Scout Association upon the recommendation of a committee of Distinguished Eagle Scouts.

DESA Recipients With  Ties to Dan Beard Council

  • Neil Armstrong – Naval aviator, astronaut, engineering professor
  • Hal Shevers – founder of Sporty’s family of aviation businesses
  • David Dillon – CEO of Kroger
  • John Dolibois – Nuremberg interregator, US Ambassador to Luxemborg
  • William Kagler – Kroger executive, CEO of Skyline Chili
  • Bruce MacMillan – surgeon, Chief of Staff at Cincinnati Shriner’s Burn Institute
  • Howard Morgens – CEO of Procter & Gamble
  • Donald Purcell – executive with Safeco Insurance and Great American Insurance Company
  • Dennis Sullivan – CFO of Cincinnati Bell
  • Jack Kraeutler – CEO of Meridian Bioscience


Read about the award at